Miller wins Keystone RaceSaver ChallengeNewsPhoto

Huntingdon’s Jeff Miller put an exclamation mark on his 2015 season at the track by claiming the 25-lap Keystone RaceSaver Challenge while also taking the season point title at the oval for the 305 sprint cars.

DJ Myers scored the 20-lap limited late model main over a stellar field of limiteds while Andrew Shoop scored the xtreme stock feature event and Wayne Brenize won the four cylinder feature.

The Founder’s Cup non-qualifiers race for the 305 sprints was taken by Jordan Thomas.

The 2013 event champion, Mifflintown’s Jake Waters led the first four laps of the Keystone RaceSaver Challenge for the 305 sprints before Orwigsburg’s Tyler Reeser took over in an effort to record his second win of the season at the track.

Point leader Jeff Miller started third in the field and took second from Waters on the eighth tour to begin driving down the distance Reeser had opened up.

The leaders entered the rear of the field with 15 laps to go and Miller then made his first bid for control.

He drove around Reeser for the lead in the first corner but Reeser used the outside to reclaim the spot as the pair raced down the backchute.

And just after the pair completed the 11th loop, a caution flag bunched the field and slowed the pace.

Another caution regrouped the field just a lap later and again with 11 laps to go but on all the restarts Reeser was able to get away from Miller.

While Miller’s advances seemed to stabilized during those mid-stage laps, they picked back up again during the last seven laps as he began cutting into Reeser’s lead.

And then with four laps to go Miller motored around Reeser for the lead and win, which was the sixth of his career at the track.

It was his first win in the marquee event for the division held at the oval and in Pennsylvania each year since beginning in 2012.

Reeser settled for second followed by 11th starter Dave Brown Jr. of Aston, Waters and Tim Tanner of Doylestown.

Sixth through 10th went to Scott Frack, Erin Statler, Nathan Gramley, Derrick Bowersox and Colby Dice.

Six heats for the 49 cars in action went to Brown Jr., Waters, Joe Kay, Miller, Statler and Reeser,

Twin consolation races went to Gramley and Scott Ellerman.

Overall fast time was set by Karl Freyer with a lap of 18.393 seconds.

305 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Jeff Miller, 2. Tyler Reeser, 3. Dave Brown Jr., 4. Jake Waters, 5. Tim Tanner, 6. Scott Frack, 7. Erin Statler, 8. Nathan Gramley, 9. Derrick Bowersox, 10. Colby Dice, 11. Joe Kay, 12. Karl Freyer, 13. Ken Duke Jr., 14. Zach Newlin, 15. Darren Miller, 16. Drew Ritchie, 17. Scott Ellerman, 18. Samantha Lieberman, 19. Steve Kennawell, 20. Zack Burd, 21. Jeff Geiges, 22. Mike Esposito, 23. Mike Schuckers, 24. Jon Haegele

DNQ: Jordan Thomas, Dalton Hetrick, Stephanie Dodson, George Riden, Alan Kumpf, Daren Bolac, John Barnett, Randy Sterling, Dave Guss Jr., Justin Zap, Vince Snyder, John Bordlemay, Cale Reigle, Ryan Stillwaggon, John Martin, Tom Worrick, Jason Bergstresser, Ryan Lynn, Cody Hackenberry, Tyler Lebo, Nicole Walker, Mike Alleman, Tyler Bear, Eddie Strada, Adam Carberry


Hi res photo