Beer Hill Cup showcased talent & sportsmanshipNewsPhoto

The final Beer Hill Cup was a typical thrilling race but the greatest accomplishment was an education for fans what a true level playing field can do for racing and how RaceSaver(R) rules and purse structure have done to give talented racers and mechanics a chance to compete every week on the ultimate level playing field.

Scott Ellerman was the perfect example for the first title win as the talented PASS Veteran has remained competitive over much of the nearly 20 years PASS has been racing. Scotts team and Car owner Richard Snader run on a very limited budget and still manage to be highly competitive holding off some excellent new talent on Friday night and throughout the series.

In the final tally of 6 races just 17 points separated the top 3 but the close competition on the track also reflects a friendship and respect in the pits as the top teams all congratulated each other.

Friday night as rain threatened the final race a tally was taken among top teams and everyone agreed that if we had to run it Sunday at Susquehanna we would settle the championship. Darren Miller led the points Friday and when asked whether the a rain date would be possible for his team Darren quickly said "It needs to be decided on the track" knowing full well he could have walked away with the title as no rain date was scheduled. Weather co-operated and 45 cars showed up for the co-sanctioned event between MASS and PASS. Miller fought back from a poor pill draw to garner a 10th place finish and tie for second place with Colby Dice. Dice and Miller split the payout and in true PASS fashion the second and 3rd place trophies were decided with Rock-Paper-Scissors. Dice who had held the front position in BHC points for much of the series came home 9th in the field packed with talented teams.

Zach Newlin and Cale Reigle finished out the top 5 with 5th and 11th place finishes. A total of 79 teams competed overall with the balance of the top 10 going to 6th Tyler Reeser, 7th Kyle Ganoe, 8th Ken Duke Jr., 9th Jaremi Hanson and 10th Jon Haegle who made the long tow for all 6 races.


Hi res photo