Reeser collects hardware, Waters announces returnNewsPhoto

Duncannon, PA
Photo by: Danielle Duke

The PA Sprint Series held their annual Banquet Saturday night recognizing Tyler Reeser for his championship run. Fairfield Auto Group picked up the tab for trophies and plaques for the top 15 as well as some special recognition awards. Jake Waters was master of ceremonies and had some news of his own.

Tyler Reeser from Orwigsburg, ran 32 races with the series in 2017 with 6 wins, 10 runner up finishes, another 4 top 5's and 2 more top 10's. Using IMCA's best 20 formula, Reeser was runner up in the IMCA/RaceSaver National Points by only 9 points, was 3rd in the Pennsylvania State Points tallied by IMCA/RaceSaver, and the 2017 Port Royal Speedway Champion. Tyler is sponsored by MAS Trucking, CG Racing Engines, Bullrider Racecars, Reesers Soft Ice Creams, Maxim chassis.

Kyle Ganoe from Thompsontown was runner up in the points and also collecting the 2017 Clinton County Track Championship as well as the 2017 IMCA/RaceSaver Pennsylvania State Point championship he also tied for 7th in the IMCA/RaceSaver National Points.

Former champ Zach Newlin from Millerstown finished 3rd in PASS points 2nd in IMCA/RaceSaver Pennsylvania State points, and 11th in IMCA/RaceSaver National Points. Newlin was track champion at Susquehanna Speedway and Path Valley.

Last years champ Ken Duke from Selinsgrove endured several setbacks with mechanical issues and a bad crash at Port Royal but still managed to pick up 4th in overall PASS points. Duke was also recognized for his efforts at the Nationals in Nebraska making the show on his first try.

Cale Reigle from Newport rounded out the top 5 in PASS points, finishing 4th in IMCA/RaceSaver Pennsylvania State Points.
John Walp from Wapwallopen was crowned Rookie of the year and finished 10th in overall points as well as being the hardest name and hometown for announcers to get right.

Jake Waters received the sportsmanship award for his help with the series while he recovered from injuries received in 2016. Water officially announced his return to driving in 2018 with a flexible schedule which he hopes can include visits back to the tracks where fans were so helpful in his recovery.

Kelly Newlin form Millerstown was honored with the Directors award that recognizes a PASS volunteer each year for outstanding contributions. Kelly has been helping the series for several years and was honored for her work with PASS as well as the entire Newlin team that worked to help the family of William Sweger who passed away on Saturday July 15 at the age of 12.

Roger Watkins also received recognition for help behind the scenes upon his retirement from racing as a car owner. Watkins with his son Mark at the wheel rank among the top in career wins in the 20-year history of PASS.

Matthew Miller and the Beer Hill Gang also received recognition for their support in 2017 but was unable to attend as the BHG annual gathering were held the same night. Matt will receive the plaque at the Racing Xtravaganza show in York and details for the 2nd annual Beer Hill Cup will be finalized.


Hi res photo