Newlin scores emotional Port Royal winNewsPhoto

Port Royal, PA. Zach Newlin picked up his first ever win at Port Royal Speedway Saturday night in the make-up event from May 5th. Newlin started on the pole for the make-up event which was run first on the evening. A fast track is often an advantage, but it wasn't exactly easy for the former champion who has sought victory at the speed palace since joining the series. Newlin may have breathed a sigh of relief when perennial favorite Jeff Miller got caught up in a early tangle with Dave Grube which ended the evening for both competitors however there was plenty of talent left in the field. Johnathan Jones started 3rd and seemed determined to ruin his dreams of that first win by pulling ahead as the two engaged in a side by side battle for the lead. Newlin eventually shot into the lead pulling Jones of turn 2 and never looked back.

Along with being a huge win for the entire team it was a fulfillment of a promise.

Newlin dedicated his biggest win to William Sweger passed away July 15, 2017, at the young age of 12, after his courageous battle of Leukemia. It was an emotional victory for Newlin who later exclaimed he was "damn near crying" for the final 3 laps.
Jones held on for second followed by Dylan Shatzer, Nick Sweigart and Drew Ritchey.

18 laps (make up from May 5): 1. Zach Newlin, 2. Jonathan Jones, 3. Dylan Shatzer, 4. Nick Sweigart, 5. Drew Ritchey, 6. Ken Duke Jr., 7. Kyle Ganoe, 8. Kyle Smith, 9. Cale Reigle, 10. Scott Lutz, 11. Josh Dressler, 12. Jay Krout, 13. Mike Alleman, 14. Jaremi Hanson, 15. John Fiore, 16. John Walp, 17. Ryan Lynn, 18. Erin Statler, 19. Colton Hoover, 20. Fred Arnold, 21. Dave Grube, 22. Jeff Miller, 23. Kassidy Kreitz, 24. Ron Aurand, 25. Randy Sterling, 26. Kurt Knepper


Hi res photo