Bishop Takes BHC Race 5 at Trail-WayNewsPhoto

Hanover, PA (7/13/18) - Elverson's Austin Bishop took the lead from his third starting spot on the second lap of the 25-lap PA Sprint Series BeerHill Cup Summer Series race, and went on to score his fifth PASS 305 Sprint Car victory of 2018 and his first at Trail-Way Speedway.

And he did it in exciting fashion, after holding off late race charges from Tyler Reinhardt and David Grube II, all while battling cars at the tail end of the lead lap.

For several laps, Bishop held a near two second lead over second running Reinhardt. As Bishop was approaching Larry McVay, who was at the tail end of the lead lap cars, Bishop attempted to go high and got out of shape, bringing second and third place to within a half second of the lead. Reinhardt attempted to make a move for the lead while Bishop continued to work on lapping McVay, until he too lost control of his car allowing David Grube II to take advantage and slip into the runner up spot.

"The track was getting narrower and narrower and I tried the top for one lap and we got out of shape," Bishop commented in victory lane. "I thought I was going to get a run on him (McVay) on the backstretch but he was kinda moving down. McVay’s a good driver," Bishop continued, "he just kind of tightened it up a lot at the end of the race. It was good running with him though. I was working my ass off trying to get by him because I knew second place was coming."

Grube, now running second, was within inches of Bishop with one lap remaining giving him one final shot at the lead. However, Bishop was able to hold him off all while racing behind McVay, who finished on the lead lap.

Following Bishop and Grube across the line were Reinhardt, Kyle Smith and Darren Miller, who completed the top five.

Qualifiers for the 305 Sprints were won by Jaremi Hanson and McVay.

Feature (25 Laps) - 1. 11A-Austin Bishop; 2. 3D-David Grube II; 3. Tyler Reinhardt; 4. 17-Kyle Smith; 5. 9C-Darren Miller; 6. 20-Stephanie Dodson; 7. 77-Andrew Hake; 8. 11Z-Zach Newlin; 9. 88-Greg Dobrosky; 10. 36-Jaremi Hanson; 11. 50-Jay Krout; 12. 61-Johnny Scarborough; 13. 83-Larry McVay; 14. 2-Erin Statler (DNF); 15. 8D-Scott Ellerman (DNS). No time.

Lap Leaders - Andrew Hake (1), Austin Bishop (2-25)

305 Sprints Heat 1 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify) - 1. 36-Jaremi Hanson; 2. 11A-Austin Bishop; 3. 3D-David Grube II; 4. 88-Greg Dobrosky; 5. 61-Johnny Scarborough; 6. 2-Erin Statler; 7. 8D-Scott Ellerman (DNS); 8. 20-Stephanie Dodson (DNS). No time.

305 Sprints Heat 2 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify) - 1. 83-Larry McVay; 2. 77-Andrew Hake; 3. 4-Tyler Reinhardt; 4. 17-Kyle Smith; 5. 50-Jay Krout; 6. 9C-Darren Miller; 7. 11Z-Zach Newlin. No time.


Hi res photo