Newlin claims second Port winNewsPhoto

Zach Newlin would win the 18-lap 305 sprint main but only after a wild fracas for the win staged between he, Kyle Smith and Drew Ritchey.

Smith started 12th in the field and rolled around the top groove on the opening lap to be sitting fourth when it was completed.

He battled with Ritchey for the first half of the event for second before taking the spot with six laps to go.

Both he and Ritchey then closed on leader Newlin and raced just off of each others bumpers for the final six laps with Newlin outlasting repeated attempted passed for control by Smith with Ritchey waiting to pounce.

Newlin and Smith were side by side more than once including in the final turns but Newlin won the race back to the line for the victory by .172 seconds.

Ritchey was third followed by 16th starter Ken Duke Jr. and Ron Aurand.

Sixth through 10th went to Jonathan Jones, Jaremi Hanson, Nick Sweigart, Tyler Denochik and Austin Bishop.

305 sprints, 18 laps: 1. Zach Newlin, 2. Kyle Smith, 3. Drew Ritchey, 4. Ken Duke JR., 5. Ron Aurand, 6. Jonathan Jones, 7. Jaremi Hanson, 8. Nick Sweigart, 9. Tyler Denochik, 10. Austin Bishop, 11. Greg Dabrosky, 12. Jake Waters, 13. Jeff Miller, 14. John Scarbourough, 15. Kyle Ganoe, 16. Christian Rumsey, 17. Erin Statler, 18. Eric Husick, 19. John Fiore, 20. Josh Dressler, 21. Reed Thompson, 22. Robert Garvey, 23. Dave Guss Jr., 24. Cale Riegle

DNQ: Kassidy Kreitz, Nathan Gramley, Jimmy White, Dave Grube, Randy Sterling, Tim Stallings, Wally Eshenaur, Stephanie Dodson, Dave Wickham, Fred Arnold, Tim Smolenyak, Ben McCall, Dave Graber, Scott Ellerman


Hi res photo