Freet wins 10th Anniv. openerNewsPhoto

Spring Run PA _ Six feature winners kicked off the Path Valley Speedway Park season opener with a fast and smooth program Friday night, March 28.

Feature winners on opening day were Ben Murphy in 600 Sprints, Dave Leidy in Mini Stocks, Mike Freet in 305 Sprints, Ryan Greth in Sidewinders, Mike Rutherford in 270 Sprints, and defending champion John Rasp in Four-Cylinder Thunder Cars.

“The drivers remembered how to race, and the veteran track crew made everything go smoothly,” said Race Director John Winsett of the program that concluded by 11 p.m. Next Friday night, April 4, the Late Models and Legends take the place of the Sidewinders and 305 Sprints.

Mike Wagner took the 305 Sprint lead on the first lap and stayed just ahead of Mike Heckman through the first 14 laps. Diving into turn two on lap 15, Heckman unexpectedly overtook Wagner and climbed his rear wheels, spinning both sprints into the infield. On the restart Mike Freet took over the lead from the third place he had raced all night and lead all the way to the finish. The front five were Freet, Mark Watkins, Craig Laudermilch, Todd Spangler, and Jason Brandt and the heat winner was Heckman.

Craig Laudermilch took the Panchos contingency award finishing 3rd.


Hi res photo