Three First Timers Triumph at Path ValleyNewsPhoto

George Riden in 305 Sprints and Jason Morrison in Sidewinders both dashed to their first wins ever Friday night at the Path Valley Speedway Park while Brian Marriott picked up his first Path Valley win of the year in the 270 Sprints. Frequent past champion Jimmy Brookens won in the 600 Sprints while past champions Ricky Harper in Mini Stocks and Terry Smith in Thunder Cars took home the local stock car wins.

Mike Wagner started on the pole in the full size economy 305 Sprints and by lap ten he led by half the track. George Riden started sixth and worked his way patiently forward to take second and lead the pack far behind Wagner on lap eight. Then on lap 16 Wagner tangled with rookie Jake Waters as he attempted to pass coming out of turn two. Wagner spun clear around and stopped bringing out the caution that sent him to the rear and gave the lead to Riden, who claimed his first win a few laps later. The front five were Riden, Michael Heckman, Jim Kennedy, Craig Laudermilch, and Todd Spangler, and the heat winners were Wagner and Laudermilch.

305 Sprints _ George Riden (6), Michael Heckman, Jim Kennedy, Craig Laudermilch, Todd Spangler, Rod Ort, Tyler Bear, Michael Wagner, Jason Brandt, Jake Waters, Mike Freet, Mark Watkins. Heats to Wagner, Laudermilch.


Hi res photo