Ryan Lynn wins CPS National QualifierNewsPhoto

The PASS 305 Sprints took to the speedway with Mark Watkins and Ryan Lynn on the front row, with Watkins taking the lead at the start and Jake Waters moving into second with Lynn falling to third. Watkins was still leading with Lynn recovering to take second on lap 4, and the trying to reel in the leader. On lap nine Lynn moved to the outside of Watkins and had enough of an advantage to lead the 10th lap, but Watkins battled back and took the lead going into the first turn, dropping Lynn back to second.
Lynn didn't give up and battled back, pulling along side of Watkins again on lap 14 and leading off the fourth turn on lap 15. Once he was out front, he was pulling away from Watkins, but fourth place starter Cliff Conner was now in second and closing on the leader but Lynn was holding his own, then with one lap left Conner went into the first turn too hard and went over the edge of the surface, recovering but losing second to Watkins as Lynn went on to garner his career first CPS win. Watkins, Conner, Rod Peters and Rodger Irvine completed the top five. Jake Waters and Roger Irvine split the heat wins.

Mark Watkins, 3. Cliff Conner, 4. Rodney Peters, 5. Roger Irvine, 6. Jake Waters, 7. Nathan Gramley, 8. Jim Kennedy, 9. George Riden, 10. Ben Naugle, 11. Joey Hershey, 12. Mike Wagner, II; 13. Tyler Bear; 14. Joe Zap, 15. Erin Stattler, 16. Reed Thompson, 17. Tom Worrick, 18. Jim Marquette.


Hi res photo