Watkins Claims VSS Nationals WinNewsPhoto

Virginia Sprint Series Race #16 11th Annual Racesaver Sprint Series Nationals presented by Department of Virginia Veterans of Foreign Wars

Saturday September 5th 2009 Fork Mountain Raceway Bassett, Va. Mark Watkins takes Racesaver Nationals Win

The 11th Annual Racesaver Nationals this year welcomed support in a big way from the Department of Virginia Veterans of Foreign Wars and a visit from JV Brotherton of Brodix Cylinder heads that manufactures the cylinder heads that powers the Racesaver Sprint Series. French Grimes Racesaver Sprint Series and Virginia Sprint Series leader hosted the event which also encluded racers from Smiley Sitton's Sprint Series of Texas and Tom Worrick's Pennsylvania Sprint Series. The standing room only crowd kicked off the night watching heat wins by Mark Watkins, Jerry Hammock and Satch Worley followed by Brodix dash to set the A main line up which was taken by Jerald Harris. The feature was next up and was lead by official pace car driver Department of Virginia VFW Commander Rex Farris. The guest flagmen of the Nationals wereTony Hernandez of Texas and Glenn Worrell of Virginia. As green waved to John Snead and Bill Rice as they took off from the front row with Bill R ice leading the first five laps until Mark Watkins went low taking the top spot where he would stay holding off Satch Worley and Billy Norfleet through out the rest of the race to take his first Racesaver Nationals win. At the line it was Mark Watkins, Satch Worley, Billy Norfleet, Jerald Harris, Eric Keck, Ryan Lynn, Anthony Linkenhoker, Pete Kingrea, Gary Kelly, Brian Lawson, Charlie Ware, Brett Blose, Scott Vasbinder, Keith Laird, John Snead, Ron Moyers, Jerry Hammock, Johnny Suggs, Tony Harris, PJ White, Kerry Rush, Carl Simmonds, Bill Rice and Erin Statler. The total cash and manufactureres support of over eighteen thousand dollars were given out to the racers on the annual Friday night cook out. The racers above represented the states of Arkansas, Maryland, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Texas, and Virginia. The next event for the Virginia Sprint Series will be at Old Dominion Speedway in Manassas, Va. on Saturday night September 19th.


Hi res photo