Heckman Wins, Myers ChampionNewsPhoto

The sprint cars ended their point season with Rod Peters and Gary Heckman on the front row. Heckman darted into the lead and was holding his own with Joe Zap in second and Peters falling to third. The first of four reds flew on lap one when Nichole Bittner hit the front stretch wall and caught fire. She was ok.
The race resumed and went red again when “Cowboy” Jim Kennedy and Nathan Gramley tangled and hit the front stretch wall hard. Again, they were ok. The race resumed for four laps, with Heckman still setting the pace with Zap still second and Peters and Ryan Lynn in third and fourth. Chad Myers was fifth in his brother’s car. The battle for second was heating up and Peters and Lynn got together with both flipping wildly through the corner. Lynn went off the speedway while the Peters car stopped on the track. They were not hurt.
The race saw Heckman continuing to hold the lead when second place Zap caught a tire in turn two and flipped his mount on lap 13. This set up a two lap shoot-out as the time limit had expired. Heckman was able to hold on for the win as Myers was close to him but could not get the win. The top five at the finish were: Heckman, Myers, Tommy Beavers, Joe Biasi and Andy Haus. Heat wins went to Ryan Lynn, Nathan Gramley and D.J. Myers.

Chad Myers picked up the 2006 points title with his second place finish. The 2006 awards banquet will be held on Nov. 18 at the Jaffa Mosque in Altoona. More details are forth coming...


Hi res photo