Parkers takes exciting win at PortNewsPhoto

Kody Lehman took the field to the green from the pole in the 305 sprint main and led until the 19th tour when Eric Parker surprised the front runners with a run through the middle groove to win his second of the year at the track.

The first 17 laps of the race went non-stop until Jim Kennedy saw a move for third spot take out himself and Nate Gramley.

Mike Wagner II., lined up second for the restart with Scott Ellerman in third and Parker in fourth.

Ellerman withdrew when action resumed making Parker third and with a sudden burst of speed Parker drove to the outside of both Wagner and Lehman in consecutive laps to take control.

A final restart with a lap to go allowed Lehman to race closely for the win through the final turns but he came up .582 seconds short at the finish.

Wagner II., was third followed by Jason Bergstresser and 25th starter Logan Wagner.

Sixth through 10th went to Mark Watkins, Alex Schanz, Zach Newlin, Ryan Lynn and Paul Snyder.

Heats went to Schanz, Ellerman and Kennedy.

305 sprints, 20 laps, 25 entries: 1. Eric Parker, 2. Kody Lehman, 3. Mike Wagner II., 4. Jason Bergstresser, 5. Logan Wagner, 6. Mark Watkins, 7. Alex Schanz, 8. Zach Newlin, 9. Ryan Lynn, 10. Paul Snyder, 11. John Braim, 12. Jeff Miller Jr., 13. Erin Statler, 14. Colby Dice, 15. George Riden, 16. Jake Waters, 17. Lance Newlin, 18. Tyler Reeser, 19. Steve Kennawell, 20. Andrew Hake, 21. Reed Thompson, 22. Scott Ellerman, 23. Nathan Gramley, 24. Jim Kennedy, 25. Ron Aurand


Hi res photo