Path Valley Awards BanquetNewsPhoto

On November 18th Path Valley Speedway held it’s annual awards banquet to honor the top drivers and teams of the past season.

Along with the top ten in points in the Friday night classes and the top five in points in the Saturday night divisions, there were several other awards presented by John Winsett, who is one of the track owners. The first was a light-hearted award, the “Yellow Flag King”, which was given to Mini Stock driver Dave Bivens.

There were four “Rookie of the Year” awards handed out for the 2006 racing season. Those winners were Levi Peck in 270cc Micro Sprint, Tyler Walton in 600cc Micro Sprint, Bobby Witters in Hobby Stock, and Mark Grove in Four-Cylinder Thunder Car.

The next award announced was the “President’s Award”, given out to recognize someone that not only works hard for their team, but also strives to make the racing better for everyone at Path Valley Speedway.
This year that honor went to John Murphy, former Super Sportsman driver and father of Ben and Jake, current drivers in the 600cc Micro Sprint division.

And the final plaque was awarded to Joe Darrah, owner of J&K Salvage, for his contributions to the Micro Sprint class in 2006. Darrah fields a car for his son Cody, sponsors several other Micro Sprint drivers, and often donated money to the purse for a particular night of racing.

Next year’s schedule is already in the planning stage and the new division of Micro Sprints, the 1000cc “Sidewinder” is already on the calendar. And to give drivers an early start for next year, the 2007 class rules were available at the banquet.
The top 5 for the 305 Sprints were:
8 ---- Randy Kaylor -- 472
98 --- Wes Zimmerman - 414
11 --- Mike Freet ---- 386
8H --- Michael Heckman-381
16 --- Craig Robinson- 336


Hi res photo