Waters wins Port on his birthdayNewsPhoto

Jake Waters drove to his birthday win in the 305 sprints for his second career triumph at the oval.

Waters was the class of the field throughout the affair, staying ahead of Bill Jones Jr. to the finish.

James Pryde, Zach Newlin and Randy Kaylor rounded out the top five.

Sixth through 10th went to Sean Kirkpatrick, Nathan Gramley, Jeff Miller, Marcus Defreitas and Reed Thompson.

Miller went to the rear after bringing out the caution flag while running sixth on the eighth tour and then came blasting back through the field to end up eighth at the finish.

Heats went to Erin Statler, Jones and Cale Reigle.

305 sprints, 18 laps: 1. Jake Waters, 2. Bill Jones Jr., 3. James Pryde, 4. Zach Newlin, 5. Randy Kaylor, 6. Sean Kirkpatrick, 7. Nathan Gramley, 8. Jeff Miller, 9. Marcus Defreitas, 10. Reed Thompson, 11. Ken Duke, 12. Cale Reigle, 13. Tom Worrick, 14. Drew Ritchey, 15. Cory Thornton, 16. Jonathan Jones, 17. Erin Statler, 18. Cody Hackenberry, 19. Mike Alleman, 20. Dave Guss Jr., 21. Darren Miller

DNS: Jason Bergstresser, John Martin, Jim Kennedy


Hi res photo