PASS teams gaining national exposureNewsPhoto

Newlin Duke and Statler break into the top 15 amid tough competition.

As we approach mid season the PA Sprint Series has once again compiled some impressive stats. With 11 races in the series has had 10 different winners. Despite this highly competitive atmosphere Zach Newlin sets 4th in IMCA National points while Ken Duke and Erin Statler are 11th and 15th respectively.

Newlin has finished outside the top 5 just once this season (6th at Selinsgrove) and since IMCA counts the best 20 finishes of your first 40 races Newlin (with 10 complete) is poised to make a run at the title. As regions throughout the country grow their race counts it will be interesting to see where PASS teams fit into the mix.

National points finish earlier than our local points but there are still plenty of races left for teams to get to the 20 race mark. This weeks race at Hesston will count towards national points but the local points will go to Laurel Highlands who is hosting the race.

So far Tyler Reeser is the only repeat winner with PASS when he recorded back-to-back victories on memorial day weekend. Darren Miller became the first rookie to win this season when he picked up the win at SSP this past weekend. all of our other winners have won races in the past. Several other new teams have shown promise as well.

56 Local teams have participated in competition so far and several visitors have also participated. With teams running part-time most teams have run 5 races or less. The repeat winner count is bound to grow but numerous talented racers have been getting closer such as Statler and Scott Ellerman.

Ryan Lynn who is probably the series most experienced racer has picked up a win at Bedford as well as Sean Kirpatrick who has been sidelined with engine woes. Look for these teams and several others to make a run at boosting the win count.


Hi res photo